Joe is home from surgery

The surgery went well, though he had a little scare when he was waking up. For some reason he felt that he couldn’t breath, it got everybody shaken up a little. In the end they told him it was because he was panicking, and getting himself worked up, but he seems to think it was more than that. Then, they also had problems with managing his pain. His doctor came out and talked to me and told me I’d be able to see him in about 45 minutes, it turned into about 2.5 hours before they let me in. Poor thing. I just gave him another dose of pain meds (it’s 3:40 pm here now) so I hope he can get a little rest. Neither one of us slept well last night.

The surgery itself went well. The doctor mentioned that the duct was unusually tiny. He said they usually clear it with a catheter but they didn’t have one small enough. That makes me wonder if that’s why he had all those episodes where they could never find anything? Maybe the stones he passed were very tiny, small enough not to be seen with ultrasound, but with his small duct they were big enough to cause the pain? I didn’t think of this until after I talked to the doctor so I didn’t ask.

Anyway, thank you all for your prayers and concern. 

Published in: on April 3, 2007 at 2:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noahspage.wordpress.com/2007/04/03/joe-is-home-from-surgery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

